Minutes of the Special meeting of council held Tuesday, December 19th, 2023 held in the Council Chambers at 34 Reid's Lane, Deer Lake, NL.

In attendance:	Mayor Michael Goosney Councillor Amanda Freake Councillor Gordon Hancock Councillor Kerry Jones Councillor Darren Fitzgerald Councillor Brett Langdon
Absent:	Deputy Mayor Melanie Young
Also in attendance:	Town Manager, Jason Young Town Clerk, Lori Humphrey

Special meeting of council called to order at 6:45 pm by Mayor Michael Goosney.

2023-1219-01, Environment and Housing Item #1

Councillor Kerry Jones / Councillor Amanda Freake Resolve for council use it powers of discretion to approve a 6 plex at 1 Airport Road provided that it falls within the variances set out in the Town of Deer Lake's development regulations and pending advertising

In Favor:	Mayor Michael Goosney
	Councillor Amanda Freake
	Councillor Gordon Hancock
	Councillor Kerry Jones
	Councillor Darren Fitzgerald
	Councillor Brett Langdon

In favor 6; opposed 0. Carried

<u>2023-1219-02, Environment and Housing Item #2</u> Councillor Kerry Jones / Councillor Gordon Hancock Resolve for council use it powers of discretion to approve a 8 plex at 48 Wights Road pending advertising

In Favor:	Mayor Michael Goosney
	Councillor Amanda Freake
	Councillor Gordon Hancock
	Councillor Kerry Jones

Councillor Darren Fitzgerald Councillor Brett Langdon

In favor 6; opposed 0. Carried



Environment & Housing Committee Special Meeting

Monday December 11, 2023

Permit Applications

In Favor:

	Name	Address		Description	Action
Nev					
1	RHS Investments Ltd.	1	Airport Avenue	6 Plex	
2	Donald Gordon	46	Wight's Road	8 Plex	

E&H is recommending council use their power of discretion to allow the above 6 plex and 8 plex units in a residential medium density zone.

These developers have been approved by the provincial government for the affordable rental housing program.

<u>2023-1219-03 Adjournment</u> Councillor Amanda Freake Resolved that since there is no further business that the meeting adjourns at 6:47 pm.

Mayor Michael Goosney Councillor Amanda Freake Councillor Gordon Hancock Councillor Kerry Jones Councillor Darren Fitzgerald Councillor Brett Langdon

In favor 6; opposed 0. Carried

Mile Dary Mayor Michael Goospey

Lori Humphrey, Town Clerk